Printing in G7 & 8

The Last Unit of the Year

IMG_8178

Since this unit was taught in the last two weeks of the year, I changed it quite a bit. Firstly, Grade 7 were meant to be printing superheroes and Grade 8 were meant to be printing human right issues connected to their learning in social studies. We did begin the process, but after the art party, I decided it would be quicker if we “stole” the images and focused more on the printing techniques rather than design our own, so I said the students could choose any theme or superheroes or human rights.

It is so interesting to see the variety of topics they chose and makes me rethink the way I set topics for students. Last year my students all printed owls however, I think opening it up to their interests is much more interesting for everyone.

IMG_8292

Considering this took us to the last class of the year, I honestly can’t complain about lack of engagement. The students were all (except one) focused and highly engaged, even with end of year fatigue, it was truly amazing!

I really wanted grade 8 to focus on 3 cut reduction printing or stencils and grade 7 to focus on special effects like colour blends, sponges and bubble wrap. I loved the results and can’t wait to do a “proper”, longer unit next year. Printmaking is going to come earlier next year, we will even have a new printing press. Exciting!

IMG_8289

To truly appreciate the final results you need to look at each one individually. So when looking at a print what can you look for?

  • A clean sharp image, smooth ink
  • Neat carving with textural lines but not distracting lines
  • Experimentation with layering, textures and patterning
  • Colour choices
  • The surfaces they are printed on
  •  HAPPY ACCIDENTS My absolute favourite when printing- those moments where it did not go to plan but the results were exciting, for example, the ink was too runny but created awesome drips, where the print was not aligned but gave you a cool shadow effect, where colours smudge into each other to give one-off effects.

IMG_8228

I told my students they are being graded for experimenting, not success because experimenting is success! Can’t go wrong with printing and look how awesome these are! The students had to submit:

  • Their best clean solid colour
  • Their all time favourite print
  • Their best experiment (even if it was an “oops”)
  • Their best fail/ oops/ learning moment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THIS IS MY LAST POST FROM THIS SCHOOL YEAR. I’D LIKE TO THANK MY STUDENTS FOR THEIR HARD WORK AND ENTHUSIASM IN THE ART ROOM. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO PLANNING NEXT YEAR!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS AND SEE YOU IN AUGUST.

3 thoughts on “Printing in G7 & 8

Add yours

      1. You’re so welcome – I think the pleasure is all mine. I so wish that my son was receiving the wonderful art schooling which you are providing for your lucky pupils! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

