Passion Projects G7

This was my first time trying Passion Projects. I have wanted to do it for quite a few years but, was worried about the quality of work produced, especially when students are working on their OWN, and not on the same topic. Previously, I could  help them all at once. However, after seeing the student engagement and enthusiasm, I think this should be a yearly unit!

It was brilliant to see what direction the students took. As this is visual arts, and the students chose it as an elective, I assumed art was a passion, so I introduced the task by saying:

Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 2.27.57 PM.png

“Close your eyes, start thinking of everything that inspires you, what are your interests? What are your passions? If school allowed you to study anything you were interested in, what would it be right now? It can be anything and doesn’t have to be art related.”

On Today’s Meet they documented their thoughts.

“Now, if you could take that passion and combine it with your favourite art skill for example painting, drawing, sculpture, digital, or ceramics, what would you do?”

We watched some of these videos so that the students had a better idea of passion projects/genius hour.

We discussed the importance of documenting their learning and following the design process:Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 12.50.52 PM.png

It was crucial they didn’t take their first idea and they had to seek multiple sources before creating their final piece. These steps made the students really think about: “What do I need to know?”, “Why?”, “Who could help me?” and then, “How could I apply what I learnt to my work?”

SO WHAT DID STUDENTS THINK?

I’m really excited, and I feel like this gives me a choice instead of just doing something the teacher assigns. Ariel

I think the idea of this project is to promote passion and do what you love to enhance art in ways you did not think was possible. Gabriel

I was confused at first and I was not hoping for it at all, but with some clarification, I got it and now I am really excited to start making my project. This makes me feel like I have more freedom to learn about anything. Tony

I really like this unit because I’m excited to be able to create a kind of artwork that I haven’t done before, and also I can be able to make an artwork of my favorite things. I’ve chosen to create a textured painting of a person traveling because visiting different cultures and being able to see the unique views of each place is my favorite thing to do. Megan

I am very excited for this project because it gives us a lot of freedom. My project is a crayon drip artwork, with a silhouette of a gymnast, since that is my passion. Bridget

STUDENTS AT WORK

As you can see we had a huge variety of tasks from fashion, drawing, painting, printing, sculpture, ceramics, crayon art to art therapy. The students followed their goal sheets, so that they stayed on track and also kept a blog at home.

Here is an awesome sample of a student blog: http://blog.ssis.edu.vn/101949/2016/11/14/art-passion-project/ 

SOME OF THE FINAL RESULTS

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I will add more photos here as I realized, it was such a rush to the end that I didn’t get around to photographing all the awesome results so stay tuned! 🙂

This entry was posted in Grade 7, Passion Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

